Tiny Moments – the Mommy Files

19 Jul

Can I be completely honest with you?  There was a time when I would have spend five minutes playing with my child and patted myself on the back for being a good mom, being involved, and gone about my day.  “good job me, you just made a memory”

But as the kids get older, which they are, and the moments become fleeting, which they do, my heart has shattered.  For what is lost.  And rebuilt itself.  Now it beats for something new.  The tiny moments.  The every day.

The days are long, but the years are short…

“mom, remember that one time we were playing checkers and we shared some popcorn and we tossed it in to each other’s mouths…”

They’re making memories while we’re making plans…

I know it is easy to say not right now…

“no, I’m working, cleaning, cooking, washing, planning, facebooking, pinteresting, reading, tv-ing…”

Because we live busy lives.

Or . . . “I can for five minutes, or after I, or, or, or”

But childhood doesn’t wait.  It doesn’t wait for them, and it doesn’t wait for us.

Childhood doesn’t pause for cleaning, cooking, washing, planning, facebooking, pinteresting, reading, tv-ing…

Childhood doesn’t pause.

And I don’t want to look back in 20 years and say “wait, now I have time to build with legos, and make blanket forts, and cook plastic food, and just talk to you”

So I’m learning to find the time now.  To say yes to games, and dress up, and dolls, and dinosaurs.  Yes to them.

Leave a Reply

